Australian High Commission
Solomon Islands

Australia Awards - Study in Australia

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships for Solomon Islanders to study in Australia in 2024 closed on 3 May 2023. The next application round for Australia Awards Scholarships will open on 1 February 2024.

Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders for development. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia. Many alumni describe their Australian study experience as transformational, allowing them to view the world differently, embrace new ways of thinking, new technology and innovative approaches to problem solving.

Australia has a reputation for academic excellence and is one of the best places in the world to live while studying. Visit Study Australia to learn more about the education opportunities Australia has to offer.

Applicants are assessed on their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to contribute and have a positive impact on development challenges in Solomon Islands.

Applications are strongly encouraged from women, people with disability and other marginalised groups. Candidates with disability will be supported to enable equal participation throughout the application and selection processes, and while on-award.

Level of study

Australia Awards Scholarships provide citizens of Solomon Islands with the opportunity to obtain a qualification at an Australian tertiary institution.

Awards are offered at the undergraduate level (bachelor) and postgraduate level (masters, research degrees) for study in specialised areas. (Awards are not available for vocational education and training, diploma, or graduate diploma studies.)

Priority fields of study

Applications are encouraged across a broad range of priority areas for the development of Solomon Islands.

The priority fields of study for study commencing in 2025 will be advertised in late 2023.

For study commencing in 2024 these priority areas are:

Undergraduate ONLY

  • Health including but not limited to: epidemiology; health policy and administration; public health; medicine; mental health; and pharmacy.

Undergraduate AND postgraduate

  • Community and social development including but not limited to: anthropology; creative industries and humanities; community and human services (child protection, social work, welfare); disability; gender and culture; gender and development; and Pacific studies
  • Economic Growth including but not limited to: accounting; business administration; economics; entrepreneurship; finance; human resource management; international relations; logistics, operations and supply chain management; marketing; sports management; and taxation
  • Environment and natural resource management including but not limited to: agriculture; climate change; conservation; disaster risk reduction and adaptation; earth and environmental science; environment and resource economics; fisheries, forestry; meteorology; waste management; and water management
  • Governance including but not limited to: communication, media, and journalism; customs; cyber security; disaster and emergency management; international development; law and legal practice; peace and security; police studies and intelligence; procurement and contract management; public policy and administration
  • Infrastructure including but not limited to: architecture; building and construction; engineering (including civil, electrical, maritime, mining, sanitation, water); information technology; surveying; and urban design and planning
  • Science, technology, engineering, and math including but not limited to: biomedical science and biotechnology; geoscience; agriculture and food science; animal health and veterinary science; engineering and computer science; mathematics and statistics; and software development.

Postgraduate ONLY

  • Education including but not limited to: education management; education policy; education technology/ e-learning; inclusive education; and learning and leadership
  • Health including but not limited to: nursing (emergency, intensive care, midwifery, obstetric, paediatric, and remote).

Eligibility criteria

Australia Awards applicants must meet all eligibility requirements detailed in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook. All applicants must read this Handbook.

All applicants must also read the Australia Awards Solomon Islands Country Profile for study commencing in 2024.

Country-specific conditions

In addition to the eligibility requirements, candidates from Solomon Islands:

  • must be residing in Solomon Islands when applying
  • must have completed Year 12/Form 6 and have an aggregate score between 4 and 11; above 11 is not eligible
  • may apply while completing Year 13/Form 7 in 2023 (final results must be submitted once received)
  • must not hold an equivalent or higher qualification at time of application, or commencement of scholarship
  • must be applying to study in Australia for a bachelor (maximum duration 4-years), masters, or postgraduate research degree in a priority field of study
  • postgraduate applicants must:
    • hold a first degree relevant to the priority field of study
    • have 3 years’ work experience.

English language proficiency

Successful applicants will be required to undertake an English language test and must achieve a TOEFL score of at least 84 (with a minimum of 21 in all sub-tests), or an IELTS Academic score of at least 6.5 (with no band score less than 6.0), or a PTE Academic score of at least 58 (with no communicative skill score less than 50).

Application process

For study commencing in Australia in 2024:

Opening date: 1 February 2023

Closing date: 3 May 2023 (11:59PM AEST)


All applications must be lodged online through OASIS


Email: [email protected]

Phone: +677 24274

Mobile: +677 738 7322

Australia Awards Solomon Islands is managed by DT Global on behalf of the Australian Government.