Australian High Commission
Solomon Islands


20 November 2015

Australia and Solomon Islands Strengthening People to People Links: Thirty Two New Australia Award Recipients Announced

 Thirty-two students from Solomon Islands have been granted prestigious Australia Awards Scholarships to study at universities in Australia and the Pacific in 2016. Sixteen of the students will go to Australia, whilst another sixteen will study at institutions in Fiji, Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea, in fields including law, fisheries, commerce, health and engineering.  

Australian High Commissioner Andrew Byrne congratulated the newly awarded students, and encouraged them to make the most of this exciting opportunity to make a contribution to the development of Solomon Islands.  

The Australian High Commissioner said “Australia awards are prestigious and are offered to only the highest achievers, based on merit, competence and equal access. You and your families should be extremely proud of your achievement.”

High Commissioner Byrne said “University life can and should be enjoyable and rewarding, with many opportunities that can help you succeed and define your career. I encourage you to explore these opportunities and make great use of them.”  

At the lunchtime event, the successful candidates for Australia Awards Scholarships were joined by twelve Australian students from Victoria University who have come to Solomon Islands through Australia’s New Colombo Plan.

The youth work students from Victoria University are in Solomon Islands for a week to work with the Solomon Islands National University, the Solomon Islands Ministry of Women, Youth, Children and Family Affairs and the Australian supported Youth@Work Program.

High Commissioner Byrne said he was pleased to host a professional networking event that brought together tertiary students from Australia and Solomon Islands.

“It is my belief that the links between people, universities and businesses forged through both the New Colombo Plan and Australia Awards will contribute to the warm friendship between Australia and Solomon Islands into the future”, High Commissioner Byrne said.

The New Colombo Plan is a signature initiative of the Australian Government which aims to lift knowledge of the Indo Pacific in Australia by supporting Australian undergraduates to study and undertake internships in the region. It complements the Australia Awards, Australia’s program of prestigious international scholarships and fellowships.

The successful Australia Award recipients include: Julieth Ataria-Tausinga, Janice Ashwin, Mary Maifiti Qurusu, Susan Taragwanu, Janet Wate, Gaylin Puairana, Atenasi Ata, Alicia Hilly-Kenilorea, Jeff Lo, Roger Junior Stinjer, Alfred Sione, Frank Fono, Charles Polosovato Sivu, Hearty Matamaru, Jimmy Hilly, Dunstone Aleziru, Leonie Palmer, Fiorenzo Toncan, Rochelle Palmer, Doreen Pitakia, Erena Jatobatu, Freda Waki, Patrina Leong, Hilda Rea Hou, Solomon Onahikeni, Jack Houopa, Charles Kera, Bradford Houkarawa, Frank Arebaio, Kenny Roa, Jacob Gharule and Fred Donbosco.