Australian High Commission
Solomon Islands

Australia supports leadership training for Solomon Islands Justice Agencies

17 February 2017

                                      Australia supports leadership training for Solomon Islands Justice Agencies

Twenty-five managers from Solomon Islands justice agencies are undertaking a Certificate IV course in Leadership and Management at the Australia-Pacific Technical College (APTC) Solomon Islands Campus, funded by the Australian Government.

Strong leaders and managers within the justice system will help to keep communities safe and to uphold the laws of the Solomon Islands.

This is the first APTC Leadership and Management course specifically targeted at the justice sector. The course is enabling participants to share experiences and work on joint solutions to problems, while gaining an internationally recognised qualification in the process.

“There are many challenges facing justice agencies in the twenty-first century, and better leadership and management skills will help us to solve these problems together,” said Lynette Tora, CEO of the National Judiciary, at the opening of the course.

“It is very important that the Solomon Islands continue to have a strong and fair justice system. Australia is proud to support the Solomon Islands justice system,” said Grant Follett, First Secretary from the Australian High Commission.

Australia is a long-term supporter of the Solomon Islands justice system. Over the past four-years, Australia has provided over SBD 200 million (AUD 35 million) to support Solomon Islands justice agencies.

Australia is also the sole supporter of the APTC, and has supported over 10,000 Pacific Islanders to gain Australian qualifications since 2007. In 2017, APTC will offer training in construction and hospitality in Solomon Islands, as well as scholarships for training in a broad range of high-demand skills areas available in its other campuses across the region.

The leadership and management course includes participants from: The Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs; The Attorney General’s Chambers; The Royal Solomon Islands Police Force; The National Judiciary; The Public Solicitor’s Office; The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutor; Correctional Services Solomon Islands; The Register General’s Office; and The Law Reform Commission.